Today, Jaguar has announced they will be unveiling their new C-X17 concept study. One glance at the teaser photo and it's pretty clear the company is looking to dip their toes into the crossover waters.

While it's exciting to see Jaguar expanding their brand it does raise a question. If Jaguar is already a luxury brand and their big brother Land Rover has the Evoque and recently redesigned Range Rover Sport, where will the Jaguar C-X17 fall into place without stealing market share? Hints of C-X17's new "highly advanced, modular aluminum architecture" point its proportions and package design directly to the Range Rover Sport platform.

Rumors of a crossover and 3 Series fighter have been fluttering about for a few years now and with the introduction of the C-X17, will we see Jaguar test the waters of how interested consumers are in their newest exploration. This also has the world's eyebrow raised with Porsche's anticipated Macan ("baby") crossover heading to the LA Auto Show later this year.

All we can say is that we are eager to see how the concept will look. If Ian Callum is behind it, it's hard imagine him doing something disturbing after the F-Type's success... We're talking to you Bentley Crossover.

The Show press conference will be streamed live from 4:30am EST/ 1:30am PST/ 10:30 CET on September 10, 2013 at Facebook.com/Jaguar

Enjoyed this Post? Subscribe to our RSS Feed, or use your favorite social media to recommend us to friends and colleagues!